Your own canoe
Basically it means I don't trust any product unless I've discovered for sure it's gluten free. When I eat gluten I'm sick for 3 days. It feels like I have a giant lump of cement in my gut. Every nerve ending feels like its moaning in commiseration with my tummy and all I want to do is lay down and suffer. However, in this dog eat dog world we know sometimes you just have to carry on.
So this means if I don't see "Gluten Free" on the label I run the other way. I won't let it touch my lips until I can prove it's free of that nasty little protein in wheat, rye, barley, or (sometimes) oats: gluten. If its something I really want then I reach out to the people who make it.
Here is the response from Twinings Tea. I love flavored teas so I'm doing the happy dance!
Thank you for taking the time to contact Twinings.
All teas are inherently gluten free regardless of where the tea is sourced, our ingredient listing states “black tea” or “green tea” in additional to other ingredients a particular tea may contain. None of these added ingredients contain gluten, so therefore our teas are gluten free. Please note, however, that Twinings at this time does not utilize an outside agency to certify our teas as gluten free.
Twinings North America